French Quarter "Skyscraper" | The Pedesclaux-Le Monnier House

Retail: Mixed Use

636 640 Royal St (634-638 St. Peter St.), New OrleansLA 70130

Property Details

Location

Address
636 640 Royal St (634-638 St. Peter St.), New OrleansLA 70130
County
Orleans Parish
Submarket
French Quarter
Parcels
207101206

Building Size

Building Size
10,060 SF
Rentable Space
10,060 SF

Building Details

Type
 Retail: Mixed Use
Number of Buildings
1
Occupancy Type
Single Tenant
Building Class
Building Status
Existing
Floors
4
Year Built
1811
Year Renovated
2020
Sprinklers
Parking Ratio

Land & Utilities

Sanitary Sewer
Yes
Water
Yes
Rail Service
No
Zoning
VCC-2
Lot Depth
Lot Width

Contacts

Current Listings

French Quarter "Skyscraper" | The Pedesclaux-Le Monnier House

10,060 SF $16,000 Monthly

www.640royalstreet.com

Once the tallest building in the French Quarter and lovingly known as "Skyscraper", The Pedesclaux-Le Monnier House is one of the most distinguished landmarks from New Orleans' Spanish Colonial period and remains one of the finest buildings in the Vieux Carre. Only three or four other French Quarter buildings outrank its' age.

This building has a "blue" Vieux Carre Commission evaluation code, which is the second highest rating for French Quarter buildings and means "of major architectural or historical importance" (the highest rating is purple, "of national architectural or historical importance"). Further, the building has a LEGAL ROOFTOP DECK for commercial use, which is extremely rare in the French Quarter.

Designed by French architect Barthelemy Lafon after the fire of 1794 and completed by notable local architects Latour and Laclotte in 1811, the building boasts wonderful architectural details, including a fabulous domed ceiling in the corner room on the third floor, delicate wrought iron balconies, and it's unique curvature at the corner of Royal and St. Peter Streets. Other architectural highlights include "bold stucco moldings, a horizontal emphasis balanced by strong pilaster treatment, curvilinear walls and a clear, ordered treatment of bays and openings" (VCC).

The property has a rich and dynamic history and became famous as the setting for George Washington Cable's "Sieur George" (1873) which contained detailed descriptions of the property. Pat O'Brien operated a speakeasy at 638 St. Peter until the Prohibition ended and he was able to officially open the bar in December of 1933 (with only enough space for one stand-up piano!). And from 1883-1891, 636 Royal was the headquarters of the acclaimed Olympic Club, which was the epicenter of boxing in America at the time.

Unique artwork graces the walls of some of the interior balconies painted during the "Dixie Bohemia" days of the 1930s when the building was mostly occupied by an eclectic art community. One such piece is a beautiful mural on the third floor which will be restored before Tenant occupancy; another, the famous blue sky and clouds that covers the domed ceiling in the third floor corner room. This particular room, with it's domed painted ceiling, floor-to-ceiling windows, and intricate balcony overlooking the intersection of Royal and St. Peter Streets, is extremely rare, if not one-of-a-kind in New Orleans.

Having gone through many "lives" since its' erection over 200 years ago, much of its integrity has remained in tact. Extensive exterior renovations were completed in 2020 and reflect the beauty and order of the original design. Taking three years to complete, the renovations include:

-Custom hand-cast bricks

-New custom-milled windows

-New custom shutters

-Repaired original cast iron balconies

-New stucco coat on the entire building

-New interior stairwell from the courtyard

-Repair of the rooftop deck to support commercial use

-Any and all structural repairs needed to make the interior sound

The interior remains unfinished to be built out by the Master Tenant or potential build to suit depending on the prospect.

Located at the intersection of "main and main" in terms of retail and charm in the Vieux Carre, St. Peter and Royal Streets. This corner is the epicenter of the French Quarter and is often bustling with shoppers and street performers. One block from Jackson Square and the St. Louis Cathedral; steps to Jax Brewery, the Mississippi River, and Bourbon Street. Close neighbors with The Court of Two Sisters, Brennan's, Antoine's (175 years old), M.S. Rau Antiques, Preservation Hall, and the Historic New Orleans Collection Museum.

The building is available for Master Lease for $16,000/month NNN. Call Sydney Anderson at 504-236-7507 for more information.

www.640royalstreet.com

Once the tallest building in the French Quarter and lovingly known as "Skyscraper", The Pedesclaux-Le Monnier House is one of the most distinguished landmarks from New Orleans' Spanish Colonial period and remains one of the finest buildings in the Vieux Carre. Only three or four other French Quarter buildings outrank its' age.

This building has a "blue" Vieux Carre Commission evaluation code, which is the second highest rating for French Quarter buildings and means "of major architectural or historical importance" (the highest rating is purple, "of national architectural or historical importance"). Further, the building has a LEGAL ROOFTOP DECK for commercial use, which is extremely rare in the French Quarter.

Designed by French architect Barthelemy Lafon after the fire of 1794 and completed by notable local architects Latour and Laclotte in 1811, the building boasts wonderful architectural details, including a fabulous domed ceiling in the corner room on the third floor, delicate wrought iron balconies, and it's unique curvature at the corner of Royal and St. Peter Streets. Other architectural highlights include "bold stucco moldings, a horizontal emphasis balanced by strong pilaster treatment, curvilinear walls and a clear, ordered treatment of bays and openings" (VCC).

The property has a rich and dynamic history and became famous as the setting for George Washington Cable's "Sieur George" (1873) which contained detailed descriptions of the property. Pat O'Brien operated a speakeasy at 638 St. Peter until the Prohibition ended and he was able to officially open the bar in December of 1933 (with only enough space for one stand-up piano!). And from 1883-1891, 636 Royal was the headquarters of the acclaimed Olympic Club, which was the epicenter of boxing in America at the time.

Unique artwork graces the walls of some of the interior balconies painted during the "Dixie Bohemia" days of the 1930s when the building was mostly occupied by an eclectic art community. One such piece is a beautiful mural on the third floor which will be restored before Tenant occupancy; another, the famous blue sky and clouds that covers the domed ceiling in the third floor corner room. This particular room, with it's domed painted ceiling, floor-to-ceiling windows, and intricate balcony overlooking the intersection of Royal and St. Peter Streets, is extremely rare, if not one-of-a-kind in New Orleans.

Having gone through many "lives" since its' erection over 200 years ago, much of its integrity has remained in tact. Extensive exterior renovations were completed in 2020 and reflect the beauty and order of the original design. Taking three years to complete, the renovations include:

-Custom hand-cast bricks

-New custom-milled windows

-New custom shutters

-Repaired original cast iron balconies

-New stucco coat on the entire building

-New interior stairwell from the courtyard

-Repair of the rooftop deck to support commercial use

-Any and all structural repairs needed to make the interior sound

The interior remains unfinished to be built out by the Master Tenant or potential build to suit depending on the prospect.

Located at the intersection of "main and main" in terms of retail and charm in the Vieux Carre, St. Peter and Royal Streets. This corner is the epicenter of the French Quarter and is often bustling with shoppers and street performers. One block from Jackson Square and the St. Louis Cathedral; steps to Jax Brewery, the Mississippi River, and Bourbon Street. Close neighbors with The Court of Two Sisters, Brennan's, Antoine's (175 years old), M.S. Rau Antiques, Preservation Hall, and the Historic New Orleans Collection Museum.

The building is available for Master Lease for $16,000/month NNN. Call Sydney Anderson at 504-236-7507 for more information.

View Details
View Details

Attachments

CIE

Source: LACDB

More Information

©Copyright 2001-2022 Catylist. All Rights Reserved. The information presented herein is provided as is, without warranty of any kind. Neither LACDB nor Catylist Real Estate Software, Inc. assume any liability for errors or omissions.

Commercial Exchange is a national commercial real estate marketplace powered by Catylist.